Ultimate Open baffle for tannoy red 15 inch

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Disabled Account
Joined 2011
Out of curiosity, why 80 hz? I have played around with my father's 15" reds in an open baffle but I was not expecting to go anywhere near that low. What were you thinking of for the below 80hz?

I don't have room for a suitably sized box.

ray
hi
how low were you able to acheive?
I want as low as possible, and 80 hz its the point where I feel that its okay 80 hz without sub, but i it cant go to 80hz, I will need to get a sub also...

I got nowhere near 80hz, probably more like 200. But my baffle was only about 20" wide and 36" high. My wife has a say in this and huge baffles are out of the question.

I tried a slot loaded dual 10" woofer arrangement and it seemed to mate ok but nothing wonderful. I am no expert with this stuff.

You should try working with the Edge program to get a sense of how low you can go with various sized open baffles and look at some of the other posts about using 15" speakers on open baffles.
Home of the Edge

If you read the Martin King pages you will find that the low QTS of 0.26 for your Tannoys is not ideal for very low frequencies.
OB Theory

ray

hi everyone. I will build a open baffle for my dad.
please recommend me what open baffle I should do if I want the bass to go down to 80 hertz...

cheers
Why? in a Very poor Box enclosure (most anything). that driver will hit ~40Hz, even on lo quality electronics.. it's fs is in the 20's IIRC.
With a 1khz crossover point to the horn section, what's the point of an OB unless you favour large sheets of plywood.

Last edited:
I would look at the Qts of a 15" Tannoy and look at typical recommendations for Qts in successful OB builds and conclude that this 15" Tannoy does not suit OB loading.