What's the best 8" fullrange that you've heard?

I didn't know about this driver, it does look interesting. Does anyone know when they plan to release it for the diy community? Good to see increasing interest in fullrange drivers - ok it is still very much niche but still!

Not sure on the exact time frame. Louis at Omega has been talking about it for months and says he is getting close to releasing them, but whether that means 1 or 6 months I don't know.

Not a whole lot of experience with 8" FR's so I'll trust your guys' opinions but the best set I've owned were the JBL LE8T.

Until someone evil borrowed them, that is. :mad: I know they needed new foams, but did you have to do in the cones too? :bawling:

Attachments

• IMG_2996.jpg
    IMG_2996.jpg
    59.7 KB · Views: 1,457
Today I found this thread and read it from beginning to end. Not being an expert, I was happy to find some opinions on the various FR drivers, how they sound subjectively.
I to am looking for "the best speaker" 8" or otherwise.
Back in 1973 I had graduated from college and had been working long enough to have saved up the money to buy a stereo system, my first big purchase as a working person. I bough a Quad 3, 33 and 303 (amp, preamp and tuner). In the process I was exposed to the Quad ESL speakers which I found amazing.
I also listened to a pair of JBL LE8T's that appeared to be haphazardly installed in a couple of backless speaker cabinets. I will never forget that sound. Easy, full and an unbelievable 3d sound stage.
But I had to settle for considerably less and eventually bought a pair of Rogers LS&'s which were really nice. Just not like the JBL LE8T's.