Unconventional Speaker Design - thread carried over from multiway forum - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th September 2012, 07:13 AM   #1
morgoe is offline morgoe  Australia
diyAudio Member

Default Unconventional Speaker Design - thread carried over from multiway forum

Hi guys,

I posted this initially in the Multi-Way forum, but I've since decided to make this a fullrange speaker, so I'll continue on the thread here. The old thread is located here.

For those who didn't see the original thread, a quick recap:
I'm designing a speaker for an Object Design class at university. I'm an audio engineer, but I've never delved much into acoustics. I want to make something that sounds good, but unfortunately a major component of the course is making a challenging and interesting looking design, so I can't just make it look like a box on the outside, despite the research and science that goes into the architecture. I've got a great wood workshop available at university, but I can't use MDF there, so I'm trying to stay away from that if possible.

I'm tossing up between two ideas at the moment, and I'll decide in the next couple of days.
The first would look something like this
Click the image to open in full size.
but in a cylindrical (U shaped box) or spherical shape. I'd cut up all the blocks into tiny little segments, and then put them together.

The second idea is to use rings to create the design, but this may waste a bit of material.

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ____________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Remlab View Post
" Innerchoic" design, by PBN.
Sammy
Interesting design. I found this pic of the inside:
Click the image to open in full size.
It does look quite similar to my design. Couple of questions: