Homebuilt Mikasa with Fostex 126E - what amp?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

newbie here! Very interesting site although most of it goes straight over my head, hoping to learn a lot while I'm here.

I recently bought those speakers (is that still the right term?) without actually knowing much about them, I was more after the Subwoofer that came with it.

But I'm very keen to start using them and set up my own listening room.
At the moment I have some 'vintage' B&W CM1 & CM2's hooked up to a Marantz amp that plays my records on a Pro-ject RPM SB6.1.

Am I assuming right that it's probably best not to hook up the new speakers to the Marantz (which is 80W)?

What amp would be recommended on a tight budget?
(I already have to sell some stuff to pay for the speakers and sub :)

Thanks in advance,

Tias.

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
Pictures?

How big a room?

Typicallywell matched with small SE amps. On a tight budget a SS or tube (EL84/6V6/ECL82/ECL86) single-ended amp is an ideal match if you can live with 2-5W. On a real tight budget some of the Class T amps are suitable.

The SS are invariably diy, lots of diy tube amps, and some buyable -- like this miniwatt N3 - Amplifiers. Class D are typically install a working board in a box diy or just buy one.

Lots & lots of info in the amp forums

http://www.miniwatt.com.hk/amplifiers/miniwatt-n3.html

Some Class-T examples classa t amplifier - Parts Express Ships Fast and Ships Free - 106

You could be very surprised by the speakers :D

dave

Hi Dave,

Thanks for the reply!

Wow, I had to google a lot of terms there. :)

I would love to go with a tube amp, mainly because people always rave about them, not to mention they look amazing.