taming harshness of fostex FF125WK

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have been playing with my new OB setup for a couple of months now, and after an initial honeymoon with sound of the FF125WK, I am now noticing a certain harshness to the sound (most probably in the 5-10khz region) and was wondering if anyone has witnessed addressed this issue.

I know that Dave (Planet10) said that some zig two-way glue on the back of the foam surround does help a bit, and I'll be doing this.

Another option is to fully Enabl these cones, but I don't know what kind of coating is needed and if/where microgloss would need to be applied.

I have previous experience with Enabl'ing my AN super12, so the technique would not be a problem.

Anyway, my setup is a double H-frame 15 inch subs with FF125WK on a flat panel, crossed actively using a 2x4 miniDSP...

Regards

Nick

I had the same problem with the my Fostex 127's - a cone break up produces a peak in the response around 7kHz. I tried Dave's tri-foil treatment but it didn't help and I don't believe eNable will help either. As I understand it, you need to use the zig on the back of the cone near the surround (I don't think it's on the foam you want to place it). I want to try this on my FE127's when I get the time.

I do have one FE127 still doing duty as the centre in my home theatre. It's been running for a couple of years and I'd guess it now has around 250 hours on it. The dust cap has been bodged in by inquisitive fingers too. It now sounds a lot better.

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
I know that Dave (Planet10) said that some zig two-way glue on the back of the foam surround does help a bit, and I'll be doing this.

Goes on the part of the surround that is attached ro the cone and a bit onto the cone.

This driver gives a good idea of the EnABL patterns i tapped out.

FF125-chocolate-spice-comp.jpg

dave

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001