Choices in Enclosures..

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
After years of 'not fooling' with Audio..I'm currently keen to cobble together a pair of (likely more :rolleyes:
Enclosures for CHP70.v2 's (awaiting delivery)
Was intrigued by the old Castle Howards ..years ago.
Auditioning revealed they didn't sound even close to their dealer asking price. Didn't Bite :) Attractive/interesting package nonetheless, though that may have had basis in their lovely veneered boxes.
I'm an architect and visuals are as important as sound.
We all have crosses to bear.
Have been exploring the available photos and Buschhorns seemed of pleasing proportion / physical presence.
Perhaps quite outdated, perf wise by now though?

Frugalhorn 3 enclosures are genuinely interesting.
But the large curved rear fin walls (horn mouth ?) and the requisite need to place significantly away from walls (true ?) seem inelegant/offputing.
These will not be in a dedicated Audio room, as reason.
Are there any similarly 'worthy' designs that perhaps bass vent forwards or other wise do not heavily rely on the room walls proximity ?
Sorry... but the choices seem large, yet small, and I'm trying to learn. :)

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
Buschhorn is quite dated and getting the CHP70 to work in them is a complete unknown.

FH3 does not need to be pulled out into the room, it is designed to be in proximity of a wall (or a corner for drivers like FE126. Quantity of bass is tuned by adjusting damping below the driver.

FH3 is one of the few boxes specifically designed to take advantage of multiple drivers.

The microTower has a "castle" option which is quite popular, but you need 2 pair of drivers for that.

dave

PS: a number of my computer clients are architects here in Victoria, and a lot more when i was a FT computer guy.

Thank you..