newbie speaker construction - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st July 2012, 01:22 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default newbie speaker construction

Hi to all!!
A few months ago i came across this plan and it looked quite promising (since i'm a total ignorant) as a first time project. Then it disappeared from the the net and, as it's a japanese site, i have no info for it.
However, i decided to give it a try and i have recently finished the construction.
Has anybody seen it before? Do you have any suggestions about stuffing and tweaking? When i return from holidays i'll post some contruction pics.
Don't ask me how it sounds because it's my first fullrange attempt and i have no previous experience, but...yeah, sounds at least interesting!!
Any help would be greatly appreciated!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg katochan-n20100223-1.jpg (472.9 KB, 304 views)
Old 31st July 2012, 02:12 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

These are some pics taken during construction. I used the Fe126En Fostexes.
Although not finished yet sound detailed and clear. At medium volumes can be a little edgy at female voices and i'm missing high and low frequencies. Maybe this can be remedied using tube gear and a turntable. I know i havent sealed them yet to get full potential (just taped them around for first time listening). I wonder if they'll get more bass when sealed, round the inside turns and/or add a supertweeter to get a wider sound spectrum. So far, i really fancy listening to jazz and instrumental recordings. It really sucks in electronica, dance and rock music.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 395404_2556304558220_1646082593_n.jpg (52.2 KB, 281 views)
File Type: jpg 559564_2848410980698_431908898_n.jpg (83.9 KB, 271 views)
File Type: jpg 525655_2913165959532_666667783_n.jpg (76.7 KB, 273 views)