Full Range and Program Content - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th July 2012, 09:10 PM   #1
autox is offline autox  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Full Range and Program Content

Hi,

I'm new to diy audio and in my reading have found myself drawn to full range speakers in transmission line cabinets, but I've picked up a few hints (Bob Brines home page) that they may not be well suited to what I listen to: electronic/club DJs, pop/rock, jazz/blues - the club music being the concern.

Will a sub-woofer address any shortcoming FR/TL may otherwise demonstrate w/ electronic content? (Is crossing at 40Hz to ensure the sub gets zero content above 80Hz (psycho-location threshhold) crazy?)

My listening room is 11'x12' w/ a 9.5' ceiling. The clap test for room response has a bit of a ring to it, but I'm open to some acoustic treatment. My source will be my PC w/ deq/dxo either in software or hardware, I've got my eye on an AudioSector gain clone, and may add a tube buffer for flavor.

Advice and useful links appreciated.

Thanks,
-Rene
Old 17th July 2012, 10:26 PM   #2
Speakerholic
diyAudio Moderator

Hi Rene,

Yes, I would add a woofer to the mix and a high pass filter to the FR to protect it from low frequencies.
Old 17th July 2012, 10:31 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

With this kind of repetitive music a RF driver will had a short life, you need a pro fullrange+Tweeter with a crossover.

Other option is a 15inches woofer and a FR, as the well know Alpha15A+Visaton B200 or other 8inches FR.

A FR is not suited to bass under 100Hz, the Alpha15A above is cut at 270 - 300Hz and pass to the B200.
Regards
Old 17th July 2012, 10:50 PM   #4
chrisb is offline chrisb  Canada
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by autox View Post
Hi,