Near-field monitor 85Hz and below

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

as the title suggests I'm looking for a near-field monitor.
Since I'm spending most of my time at my desk when listening to music, the ear-speaker distance is mostly a meter or so.
I'm also in posession of a t-tqwt subwoofer that drops at 85Hz so I guess the new speakers should be linear to 80Hz or so.

Also I hear the markaudio chassis are the scream concerning fullrange drivers?

I'd love to hear your ideas/suggestions for this.

I'm not a complete beginner when it comes to simulation and I have a calibrated microphone I can use to measure. So I'm mostly in it for the learning experience to become a good speaker-designer :) (not just hit and run)

cheers!
hurtz

I had a similar idea, but to use the Fostex 125. They are hard to use and to order the passive parts necessary to tame them, as best to what I modeled in my DCX, costs several times the drivers. I am still going to do them, but lower on my list. Same reason, for the experience. So far, I don't like what I hear or see in the charts, but until I build the best I know how I can't claim that full range is a pipe dream. I think so, but I will try to prove myself wrong. One basic problem that could impact desk speakers is size. The light weight cones needed to get any semblance of treble means high Fs and large VAS. Darn physics.

I believe the MA drivers are the way to go for nearfield. They're lower effeficiency which is not a concern in the nearfield. The lower efficiency allows for a smoother response and better bass unlike the fostex the tvrgeek referenced. If the computer is the source I've had great success using the onboard eq to compensate for baffle step and any response issues.

The A7 might be a good choice in a sealed enclosure. Others will likely have a better formed opinion of that. 85hz isn't a tough job for the MA stuff.

Joined 2010