Horn build recommendation for a Mono,Vinyl, Hi-Fi, Tube driven DJ. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th July 2012, 03:15 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Horn build recommendation for a Mono,Vinyl, Hi-Fi, Tube driven DJ.

Hi all, I have not posted hear much but have been a long time lurker.

Just a bit about me. I have been a self employed musician for the past 20 years. I support a beautiful wife and two kids. I have had to find or develop other streams of income over the years to pay the bills. All of my other streams of income involve music one way or the other. As of now I where many hats. I gig with my blues trio and solo acoustically, I'm a song writer, I teach privet music lessons, I'm a piano tuner. I'm going to commit the ultimate sin as a musician and become a DJ! There I said it!!
I inherited an old Mono Rek-o-Kut turntable about 10 years ago. I finally got around to rebuilding it. Hooked it up to my Scott 299d and listened through my guitar cab which has two JBL D123's. In short I was blown away by what I heard. Real dynamics coming out!
I gig at a lot of restaurants, clubs and center centers. I had the idea that I may be able to make some money spinning mono records and giving a small history lesson on mono vinyl and period correct playback and some trivia about the song i'm spinning.
I tried my idea out at an a senior center and they loved it! So I'm gonna have a go at trying to make some money spinning mono vinyl records using period equipment.
Sorry for being so long winded. To my questions: