Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th July 2012, 09:03 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default No place for beginners? Or where do I start?

I have been meaning to start building and combine my 2 hobbies - Audio and Woodworking. I think I have the woodworking part down but after browsing this forum for many days, I don't still know where to start with a simple project with a full range speaker. I didn't see any beginners threads.

I am a hobbyist located in the US. Not really on a strict budget. Would like some design and component advice/pointers.

Thanks!
Old 4th July 2012, 09:47 AM   #2
jimbro is offline jimbro  United States
diyAudio Member

There are probably hundreds of threads on these forums started by beginners but not labeled as such so they may be hard to find. Try searching 'noob' or 'newbie' etc. You'll notice a common theme. You have to tell us about your room, music tastes, application (just music - movies - both?), electronics, volume level, budget range, and box size to start with. What's most important to you? Imaging - dynamics - micro detail - smooth and easy to listen to? More questions than answers at this point.
Anyway - stuff to chew on. Give us some info and I promise you'll get lots of help. Enjoy!
Old 4th July 2012, 10:26 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Default Fellow beginner

Hi there,
I'm pretty much in the same boat - I plan to build my first full ranger speakers shortly (sometime soon; after I finish all the other outstanding projects... ).

I've already grabbed some drivers (the fe166en; because of http://www.firstwatt.com/pdf/art_cs_amps.pdf)
with the intention of building copy of 6moons audio reviews:Cain &*Cain Abby and Bailey
which are discussed here (and a few other places) Cain Abby Cain & Cain Abby Clone