AudioNirvana 12" 5.6 cabinet details

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all

I am in the process of planning the cabinet construction for these audio nirvana 12" cast frame speakers. I am a complete and utter noob, the only time i have done anything remotely related to speaker DIY is when i took the silly two way yamaha satellite speakers and cut a hole in their back and inserted a toiletpaper center in there with hole diameter and tube length similar to those of similar speakers. ANYWAY.

I listen to all sorts of music, from full blown orchestra to chamber music... from Glass Hammer to All Shall Perish (i will save you the anguish of listening to an example. Imagine a diesel truck trying to start in a cold cold morning. I also play the electric and i am mostly a technical death metal player) and from a capella to... well... this ... or this... Anyway, again...

I am semi-decided to use the 5.6 cabinet, mostly because commonsense audio suggests it. If someone has a cabinet to suggest that is easy to build but doesn't sacrifice sound quality significantly, i am open to ideas.

I was planning to use plywood ~20mm, because i thought it would be more rigid than MDF, but a friend says that MDF has more uniform characteristics: its properties don't change as much as plywood does.

1. Do i want to use MDF or plywood? I am kinda cheap, BUT i also want it to sound decent.
  2. Is 18mm thickness good? if i go 22mm would it be better?
  3. Do i butt-joint it? do i glue it?
  4. Does the speaker rim HAVE to be flush with the baffle? same friend says yeah or else the sound will suffer. But i see speakers from dynaudio (example) that don't seem to be flush :( I think making the 'step' in the front baffle will be a small challenge. I have no special tools... I have a dremel... and some duct tape though.
those are my main problems.