Any Fostex FE167En smallish Cabinet recommendations?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Mornin' All,

Bit of a tricky one this. I've bought a couple of FE167En's for use in my day-job workshop (I'm an Electronics Tech by trade) to replace the now deceased JBL Control 1's that have provided sterling service for many years but due to the dry-ish atmosphere in the 'shop their foams have all disintegrated and now need replacing. Whatevers! One day when the wind is in the right direction etc etc etc.

What I now want to do is build a pair of smallish FR Cabinets for the FE167En's. There's a few proviso's though..... The HAVE to be mounted hanging from a small cable gantry (!) at the far end of the workshop. Floor or shelf space is at an absolute premium and also there's great chance they'd get damaged as we've got pieces of kit to be repaired coming and going in and out of the 'shop allday everyday so 'up and out out of harms way' it HAS to be.

They'll be driven by a fairly muscular EL34 PP amp which is fed from a PC running FLAC files in Foobar FWIW. We've already got a pair of DIY (built when i was still at school... I'm now 46!) 2 way BR cab's that need to come down off the gantry as they too have foam disintegration probs. They've been up there at least 6 years and have done well also (we had 2 systems... long story!).

The only cabinets I've seen that really fit the bill so far are Fostex's own 'recommended' design. Anyone know of anything else worthy of consideration?

ta's.

DTB.

how "small" exactly?