Air Volume for Dayton RS100-8 4" Reference Full Range Driver - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd May 2012, 08:22 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Air Volume for Dayton RS100-8 4" Reference Full Range Driver

Hello everyone. I've recently set out on a journey of an awesome DIY Party Boombox. Love the Boominator stuff.. But I wanted a more compact unit.

I'm considering the Dayton RS100-8 4" Reference Drivers for my main sound. 4 of them, facing in 4 directions in a cubed box. My question is, looking at the website, what is the best sized box for them? I'm very new to specific terms and values, and my Google-Fu is failing me. I can't seem to find it. There's the Vas Value of .09 cubic feet. But that's just 1.08 Cubic Inches.. I assume that's the air it displaces, correct? Not the ideal box size??

Love the site.... Sooo much information.

I'm using Solidworks to model out my box for manufacture. Here are some Preliminary designs.

EDIT: Here's a link to the Spec Sheet.

Last edited by Leejin; 22nd May 2012 at 08:31 PM.
Old 22nd May 2012, 09:53 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Those cubic feet to liters always mess up my head, but it's more like 4*4*10 inches =2.5Liters if I am not mistaken. think of it more as a very important value for calculating enclosure. vas often give e good indication of optimum internal volume, but not always.

you would have to calculate optimum enclosure, but it would be small.

Last edited by KaffiMann; 22nd May 2012 at 09:56 PM.
Old 22nd May 2012, 10:12 PM   #3
chrisb is offline chrisb  Canada
diyAudio Member

as to the question of unit conversions, I've been using this one for at least 10yrs, and it runs like a charm, but only in Windows/Unix

Convert for Windows - joshmadison.com

link to zip file of application:
http://files.joshmadison.com/convert.zip