First DIY loudspeaker project for LM3886

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello!

this post is my first step into the world of diy audio! My favourite listening is hard rock / heavy metal, so I don't know if the speakers and the amp I'm thinking about will be suitable for this...

I was thinking of a LM3886 chipamp, connected to Fostex FE166en drivers.

My first question is: are those components good for hard rock / heavy metal listening?

Second question: In case the above is true, wich enclosure is suggested for the FE166en? I've read that the Fostex factory proposed design is not "state of the art", but I don't want to have something big as th BiB project...

Thank you all in advance!

Thanks for the answer...
I suppose that a 2/3 way system raises the total cost much...:(
As this is my first attempt in diy, I'd like to try with something "simpler" and chepaer...

So the final question is:
Has someone listened to some hard rock / metal on a fullranger? If so, does it sound THAT bad?

PS. I've never had a real hifi, so I suspect that the fullrange will still be better than my actual AIWA 15 year old china made stereo system...:)

yes...I have Audio Nirvana's 8 inch cast frames and use them for all types. classical, jazz, rock...vocals, guitar etc. The problem is that when your source material is not good...it sounds mediocre. Also, metal is very compressed sounding. Not a good match for many speakers. Im not saying that its not doable. I think its a great idea to build a first simple speaker...just get some more opinions here from other members. These guys are older farts here and typically listen to Adele, vocal stuff, classical, guitar...good mids is what they like. And a good full ranger will get you that. I think over all, you will happy with it.

Hi,