Fostex bookshelf

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone,
this is my first post on this forum so I'll introduce myself. I'm Ervin, and I'm from Italy. Actually I'm studying (not englesh, as you can understand from my pour form of writing it:D) and for the next two years nothing will change, so I need to build something to listen to in these years to come. My bigger problem is....space. I don't have any space in my room to fit the speakers in. If I had it, nothing would stop me from building a big BVR or the onur horn...but no space, no party.:(

I'll post some pictures of the place when they'll be putted. I don't see any solution but bookshelf here.

My courrent speakers are a couple of indiana line 4.06 (italian product).
Arbour 4.06 2 vie, da scaffale - Scheda Prodotto - Indiana Line
They are not that bad, but I want to try fullrange speakers.
As you can see from the data, they ho only 58hz low, and I'd say that I don't need my bookshelf to go lower (and I guess they want go that low anyway, even if i wanted to:D).

From what I can see from the official datas, my choice would be fostex fe166en. It looks good to me, and since I would drive it with a ta2024 based amplifier, its efficiency over 90dbel from 150hz to almost 20khz sound good to me.

The other choice is the fostex fe126en, but I know my self and since I'm in love with the fe166en, if I choose the small one, I would regret my choice.

So, at the end of the story, ths is my space (see photos) and what I'm asking for is a Bookshelf design for the fostex fe166en whith something around 55/60 hz (if it is possible, of course).

Hi,

There is a problem with your pictures - could you try adding them as attachments to your post?

Going to only 150Hz would result in a speaker that sounds very thin: no bass.
Those Fostex speakers need big horns to get bass.

If you want to stay with Fostex speakers, try the newer products: