Newbie recommendations - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th April 2012, 10:57 AM   #1
danzz is online now danzz  Spain
diyAudio Member

Default Newbie recommendations

Hi..

Im a total newbie, but I have been reading a lot this forum lately, so Im getting more or less an idea of what I want... But I still have a couple of doubts...

First of all, let me introduce my little project... I want to improve my Yamaha AVR-S80 5.1 home cinema, the RMS out from the amp is 33w at 6ohms,

I have decided already the speakers to use, for the satellites, Im planning to use the Tang band W3-881SI, a single unit per satellite, and for the center channel I liked to use Tang Band W23-1287SI conected in series to get a 8ohms load.

My doubts are:
Satellites:
Sealed or vented!?.. I wanted something small.
Should I add a tweeter!?... something like the tang band 25-302SH or any other recomendation...
Should I setup a high pass 800Hz filter for the W3-881SI?

Center Channel:
Should I add also a high pass 800Hz filter!?, if yes, what Impedance 4 or 8 ohms, I ask this as the speakers are 4 ohms, but as Im going to conect them in serie, the load will be 8ohms...

Thanks in advanced...
Old 6th April 2012, 12:59 PM   #2
fakeout is offline fakeout  Canada
diyAudio Member

I'm still a newbie myself but I thought if you connect two in 4 Ohms, it's 2 Ohms, maybe not something your amp can take.
Old 6th April 2012, 01:15 PM   #3
zman01 is offline zman01  Bangladesh
diyAudio Member

fakeout, danzz,

If you connect 2 x 4 ohms in parallel then it puts a 2 ohm load on the amp which might be too much for the amp to handle.

2 x 4 ohms in series will yield a much more friendly 8 ohm load.

Danzz,

What is yor listening distance and room size like?
Old 6th April 2012, 01:44 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Hi..