Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th March 2012, 01:45 AM   #1
rmeinke is offline rmeinke  United States
diyAudio Member

Default New pair of fullrange drivers

Hello fellas,
I am new to the full range experience. I built a small set of slot loaded W4-1320 bamboos and love them with simple BCS.

Recently I picked up a new pair of Tang Band W5-1880’s and wonder what options I have instead of the typical vented or sealed enclosures. MLTLs look great. If it would be possible to build a more simple horn design that would be very cool too.

Has anyone built a design with this driver? Or are there any existing MLTL or horn designs that are relatively close and could be used?

Any thoughts or help would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,
Rich

Last edited by rmeinke; 30th March 2012 at 02:22 AM.
Old 30th March 2012, 03:03 AM   #2
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

Isn't this driver discontinued? I have the smaller one, yet to play with it.

Scott did a sim that indicates the W5 should work in the Frugel-Horn Mk3

dave
Old 30th March 2012, 06:09 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hi Dave,
Thanks for the suggestion. The Frugel-Horn Mk3 is just beautiful to look at and from what I've gathered, sounds just as fantastic! The angles and curves may be more than I want to tackle right now but certainly on the list.

Would you happen to know other designs that might be more simple to construct if I shy away fromt he curves and angles? Just curious of the options.

Yeah, I missed the W5 when it was on special at PE but managed to picked up a pair off the forum. After reading what Steve at Decware had to say I'm very happy that I did. I too have the W4-1879 in the same line. LOVE the W4-1320SJ and thought that it would be a step up.

Thank you again for your suggestion! Appreciate the response!

Rich