MCLA (Murphy Corner Line Array) project - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th March 2012, 04:05 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default MCLA (Murphy Corner Line Array) project

Part 1
I need to preface what i'm going to say by stating i am not an expert at audio/speaker building and I do not have a good reference point to use as a comparison for the MCLA's.

The beta version of the speakers are done and in. I'm designating them as beta versions because I think some tweaking is required.

Configuration-
emotiva umc1 preamp/processor
Mcintosh mc2100
Sonos, digital output, all lossless music
Current speakers- paradigm studio 60
Behringer deq2496

MCLA config-
7 feet long
22 Aura 3" 8 ohm drivers per side
Flat eq settings based on mcla spec

Room-
13x25x7.5
Speakers on short wall
Single double pane window 4 feet from each speaker
Hardwood floors
Not much absorptive material in room

First impression (highly subjective)
Bass a little boomy
Highs somewhat muted
Lacks precision (crack of the drum, tight bass)
Off axis dispersion (approx 25 deg) noticeable decrease in highs

Things I can tweak-
Maybe i have too much/little insulation in box
Seal box better with silicon
Eq settings
Change equipment (amp, source)
Old 25th March 2012, 05:20 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default Part 2

1. Pictures for the project will be uploader later today
2. I've gotten better at using the DEQ2496 (RTA, GEQ, PEQ). I have 3 memory settings at this time (a. MCLA specified settings-flat response, b. RTA AutoEQ, c. my ear/interpretation)
3. I still am very dissappointed with the sound. Very colored, minimal impact.
4. I have not done measurements, but it appears as if the off access reponse drops off very quckly.