Will Alpair work in a Sachiko design? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th March 2012, 02:22 AM   #1
tpageal is offline tpageal  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Will Alpair work in a Sachiko design?

I'm very new to this and have searched for days on this site looking for Alpair and Sachiko designs. I have only built one center speaker with an alpair 12 and absolutely love the sound. I am now wanting to go all in and try my hand at replacing my analog system speakers. I like the idea of the Sachiko BLH design and since I like the Alpair as the center in my home theater set up I was just wondering if anyone has any experience with the combo.
Thanks
Old 9th March 2012, 02:34 AM   #2
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

The short answer is no.

You might find this interesting... you have to get into it a ways before Allen starts his work on Avebury (somewhere around post 90). Mikasa, next?

dave
Old 9th March 2012, 02:35 AM   #3
jimbro is offline jimbro  United States
diyAudio Member

You need a blh designed specifically for the alpair 12 like this - Woden Design | Avebury
Old 9th March 2012, 02:47 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Thanks for the replies. Given I don't know what I'm doing I think I'll go with a Fostex/Sachiko design. There's a lot of info on those and I'll be able to find help when I screw something up....
Thanks again
Old 9th March 2012, 03:49 AM   #5
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

Do keep in mind that the successor to Sachiko, Kirishima, is designed for the currently available driver, Spawn Olson/Nagaoka Horns the Next Generation

dave
Old 9th March 2012, 03:54 AM   #6
zman01 is offline zman01  Bangladesh
diyAudio Member

tpgeal,