Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th December 2011, 12:15 PM   #1
Ale79 is offline Ale79  Italy
diyAudio Member

Smile Seeking help for first Speaker project

Hello everybody,
I'm a total newbie to diy and have finally mustered the funds for my first ever speaker project.
As I wouldn't have a clue on how to build a cross-over I was thinking about some full rangers, and after some reading I got the impression the Jordan JX92HD+ seem like a pretty safe bet.
I have seen the most popular projects for the JX92S and really love the looks of the classic VTL design by Ted Jordan, also it seems to be reasonably simple to build, but I'm not sure if the new HD+ drivers can be used with it and I was hoping to find reassurance here. I was also wondering if the MarkAudio drivers could be used in alternative and wether they would sound better or worse.
Could anybody please tell me where I could find the detailed projects for the VTLs', possibly with step by step instructions, photographs, and so on? I wasn't able to find anything more than the bare design and dimensions...
Thank you very much for your help!
Old 26th December 2011, 01:52 PM   #2
expert in tautology
diyAudio Member

Nothing is "safe".

In terms of building, I do not know if the particular project ur interested in is documented, here or elsewhere. Did you do a search?

In general terms, drivers of similar T/S parameters can be substituted freely in a cabinet designed for a given T/S parameter(s). 10-20% variation in any parameter likely will not be a big change in result.

Generally speaking one wants to pick a driver and then design/build the cabinet to match.
For general building tips and ideas, there are a great many speaker builds documented in DiyAudio's posts. Looking at them should help you figure out what you want or need to do.