Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th December 2011, 11:39 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Visatron FRS8 - Are they actually any good at this price??

I'm fairly new to speakers; I want to build a small pair for the bedroom; nothing too big, not to bass heavy. I'm thinking T-Amp driving fullrange 3" drivers (possibly Open Baffle).
I've been doing some googling and found quite a lot of decent looking DIY efforts with a Visatron FRs8 (especially on German sites). But I was really supprised by how cheep they seem to be when i looked them up, Rapid are doing them for £7.31 a pop. Can they actually be any good at that price? anyone used them? anyone used them OB?
Old 19th December 2011, 01:20 PM   #2
expert in tautology
diyAudio Member

Sure, if the curve shown is correct, these are nice little drivers.

You will need more than one to get decent SPL and sensitivity.

If you use the FRS8 then you will only get 82dB + 15dB = 97dB at 1 Meter when
at maximum power (30 watts). The 8M seems to give more sensitivity. Not sure what
the diff is exactly. Keep in mind that you will get NO bass from these.

Qt is NOT spec'd. Not on the website for Rapid or in the pdf linked. This means that
it's impossible to know how to use them properly until you know that and the VAS. OB will have less bass.

Imo 6 on a channel might be very impressive... but again, no bass.

I have not used these particular drivers, nor seen any.
Others may have more experience with this driver, etc...

_-_-bear

EDIT:

Found it online.
The 8m has 2x the magnet (better in this case) and has a Qt 0f 0.49.
The 8 has a Qt of ~1.0

I'd opt for the 8m if possible. That Qt is fairly "magic" and will tend to work in almost any cabinet
you chose to use, vented, sealed, etc...