Spherical speaker design help needed - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th December 2011, 04:52 PM   #1
Neko88 is offline Neko88  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Spherical speaker design help needed

Hi, I'm new to this (rather amazing) forum and only recently became interested in designing speakers after stumbling across the various ingenious Ikea bowl designs that people have made. I made a similar speaker from solid ash and black walnut (photos below, not very well taken, and without a proper speaker stand so they don't really do it justice).

Anyway, it sounds really good to my ears (i.e. not dissimilar to my dad's £500 Mission towers, apart from a slight tinniness. However, using my sequencer's EQ to cut by 6db at about 1500Hz removes the tinniness, and vastly improves the sound. Is this likely to be caused by the design of the enclosure?

Would making a basic notch filter, like the designs I've seen elsewhere on this forum get me a similar result without having to play all my music through Logic's EQ? Is there a better way of establishing exactly where this spike is, or should I just continue going by ear? I'm pretty happy with the post-EQ result I currently have.

Would anyone be able to help me establish the values of the components I would need? Do i just solder them together and stick them in front of the negative terminal on the speaker? I'm really struggling to make sense of the information out there. I'll try to upload a screenshot of the EQ curve I'm trying to achieve.

thanks very much - and sorry if these are newbie questions
Attached Images
File Type: png Picture 1.png (43.3 KB, 661 views)
File Type: jpg DSC01845.jpg (159.7 KB, 654 views)
File Type: jpg DSC01855.jpg (175.3 KB, 647 views)
Old 9th December 2011, 05:53 PM   #2
frugal-phile(tm)