W3-881SI tabaq

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Will the W3-881SI be a good speaker for the tabaq box design on http://coolcat.dk/bjoern/TABAQ_TL_for_TB.pdf

I tried modeling the specs but I am very new to this and was less then successful at gaining any real info.
I did do a ported box tuned to 49.5hz and it looks good to me but I will post so someone can correct me. I put in all the specs I could find for the speaker.

Attachments

• post4diy.JPG
    post4diy.JPG
    138.8 KB · Views: 642
Hi,

Consider an upgrade to winISD Pro. You get other features such as an excursion chart for the power input, which is very useful for small drivers.

However, this software can't model transmission lines. You're going to either need a different piece of software, or take your chances with the design: the author suggests using drivers with a high Fs and Qts, so you'll be okay there.

Chris

I realize that this thread is a bit stale, but I just completed a TABAQ build using the w3-881sjf with amazing results. I cannot recommend highly enough. Previously I had Acoustat electrostatics and klipsch rf-52 mkii on this system, but these TABAQs are by far the most fun to listen to. Effortless bass that seems to roll off perfectly, very natural sounding with awesome imaging.
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

ChairmanMAO,

Very nice looking pair of TABAQs - how did you apply the paint?

I built a pair of folded TABAQs a few weeks back with Tang Band W3-1053sc drivers and like you was surprised by the sound. They are placed close to the wall and running without any filter.

Thanks for the kind words everyone!
This was my first time working with MDF and the second pair of speakers I ever built.
Definitely learned a lot that will make future builds easier.

Zman,