Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th October 2011, 03:36 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default first diy tqwt fullrange speakers

hello everybody,
First of all sorry for my English.
Second, congratulations for this great forum.
I'm new in this hifi diy things so please be pacient
I'm looking for some full range speakers and i've got some questions but I'm not sure if they make sense,

-if one purpose of fullrange speakers is not being out of phase why should I go for back loaded horn? doesn't the sound comes out of phase? the distance traveled by the sound from the drive and from his back is not the same...

-from all the designs I've seen TQWT is the one that makes more sense to me
but I'm too confused with what driver to choose...
first I thought of fostex fx120 but then I listened to some fostex monitors NX-6A and I really hated the sound of them, they were very metallic, not soft at all, so I really got scared about buying these fx120, then I saw the the tang band drivers but I read somewhere that the w8-1808 where not suitable for TQWT, but didn't said why...

-These are just a few of my questions...
thanks for your patience

just for the record, I like all kinds of music but some kinds I just listen in good systems like opera, my father has a pair of b&w 805, and I really like them, but I don't have the money (or the status ) , neither is fun to buy something already done...
I like a "relatively powerfull" bass, but what I really like is a fast stopping bass (that doesn't get too much around himself) and detailed treble

thanks
bernardo
Old 13th October 2011, 04:50 PM   #2
chrisb is offline chrisb  Canada
diyAudio Member

A few thoughts re Fostex drivers / etc: