Jordan JX92s questions.....

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, I am relatively new to DIY. I have read alot about it but have yet to complete a project. I was recommended this forum.

I recently bought the parts to build a pair of bookshelf speakers using the Jordan JX92s full range driver. The parts have yet to arrive.....but I will get to that later.

I ordered all the parts needed from two suppliers.

DIYCable.com

- Economy Soldering Iron (30 w)

- One ounce of Cardas Solder

- Ten feet (play it safe) of 11.5 AWG Cardas Chassis wire (large gauge to play it safe)

- Two Cardas Long Pure Copper Binding Posts

Creative Sound Solutions

-Two Jordan JX92s Drivers.

-Two Assembled Enclosures for the Jordan JX92s.

-Two ports for the enclosures.

Did I order all the needed stuff?
I assume I just install the binding posts, screw in the drivers and solder the wire from the binding post to the driver?

My main problem is that the stuff from CSS has yet to arrive. I am unsure at what state my order is in. I had to order from CSS because they are the only supplier of the Jordan driver I can find, and they are the only people I can find who sell the Jordan Enclosure.

My second problem is I am unsure of whether I need to stuff the box or not. I will be using the drivers without a subwoofer so it would be appreciated if there was a small bass hump caused by SWs.

My third problem is decoration. I need to somehow have the speaker look nice. The Jordan is a beautiful aluminum driver.......I would like to have a beautiful enclosure to go with it. However, the people I have talked to have discouraged me from painted the MDF enclousure. Apperently MDF is hard to paint (?).

Thank you all. I plea to you DIY gods to help me!