University alnico 12" spec request.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Just bought a University 12" alnico speaker to use in a guitar amp. Its a 6200 model rated for 30 watts, 8 ohm. Wondering if anyone can give me any specs or other info on these speakers? My understanding is that University was somehow linked to Altec, and that these have a "W" magnet, which is supposed to be a good thing.

I know this application would lead one to put this thread in the "Instruments" section, but as this driver was originally for other uses I thought those looking in this section might be more knowledgable.

RC,

I have no experience with the 6200 12-inch full range, but have measured TS parameters for others of that period, including the 8 and 12 inch Diffusicones and the 6201 coax. The 6201 might be a close derivative, but there are critical differneces. The 6201 has the same magnetic structure as the 12 inch Diffusicone (based on visual inspection). The 6200 is spec'ed as having a 1 pound alnico magnet, while the Diffusicone has a 1 1/2 lb alnico magnet (see hifilit.com).

They all have relatively high Qts (0.4-0.7)and are quite efficient (95-97 db/w/m). Surround compliance is moderate so Vas tends to be moderate also. For example, for the 6201: Qts 0.50, Fs 50.5 Hz, Vas 3.28 cf, spl 94.6, Re 7.8 ohms (rated '8-16').

The highish Qts does mandate a quite large cabinet for BR use. All this is to suggest that the 6200 would probably work quite well in an open back cabinet about the size of a Fender Deluxe, especially with tube amplification and a little bass boost. For ss amplification more bass boost would be required. A vintage driver is not likely to take well to being overdriven by a ss amp. PP or SE 6V6 would be ideal.

Regards,

Bob