Dual horizontal EL70 + tweeter? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th July 2011, 06:14 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Dual horizontal EL70 + tweeter?

Guys,

The EL70 was recently recommended to me by the forum admin for a situation where I need lots of vertical and horizontal response due to extremely poor mounting location of the speakers (below ear level and off to the side).

I've hesitated because I have no experience with full-range speakers. But, because of my physical mounting limitations (height = less than 10" max) and off-axis response needs and dynamic capabilty, I keep coming back to the EL70's.

The two things that make me hesitate are lack of tweeter and not being sure about their dynamic capability for this large room.

So tell me, is it possible to succesfully pair two EL70's per side, horizontally mounted, with an inexpensive tweeter that also has great off-axis capabilty? If so, what tweeter would be suggested?
Would this baffle layout be the way to go for this two way? And is 10k hz the recommended crossover for this setup?

This is for pop music & home theater.

EL70's:
http://www.creativesound.ca/details.php?model=EL70
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled2.jpg (23.4 KB, 207 views)
Old 5th January 2012, 07:30 PM   #2
jimbro is offline jimbro  United States
diyAudio Member

While searching around for info on horizontal drivers I found this unanswered thread. If you're still interested CSS has their ert-26 tweeters for half price at $18pr! I'm interested in hearing opinions on horizontal drivers myself like two maeshows side by side.
Old 5th January 2012, 07:59 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

The side by side arrangment is typically considered to provide some unfortunate comb filtering effects. Would not be excellent off axis.