Newbie needs help choosing Driver & Enclosure

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi
For the last few months I have been surfing the net, reading trying to sort real facts from false claims and I have finally resorted to ask for help.
Facts:
  1. I really want to try the single driver Full range aproach
  2. I have a budget of ±$400.00 for the drivers
  3. Since I have no experience I would like to build something that is kind of middle of the road (A good compromise) Typical Full Range
I have looked at the following: Audio Nirvana Super Neodymium 8'' or 10'' in a 2.8 Mark II or Series ! enclosure. I also find the Metronomes apealing but I do not have a clue which driver would suit my needs better.

If anybody has ideas, comments, suggestions I am all ears...

Yves,

We can better help you if we have some additional information.

Amplifier the speakers will be used with.

How loudly you typically play music. Not just loud or medium loud, but spl in db if possible. If not, then is the music louder than normal conversation, must you raise your voice to be heard or can you carry on quiet conversation during music playback?

Size of the listening room.

Type(s) of music you listen to.

Room for speakers. Are you limited to small footprint types (towers) or can you live with wide speakers (OB)?

You mention the Metronomes so we assume some wood working capability.

We trust that you have been reading posts on this forum and are aware of the pros and cons of full range drivers. If not, please do so and feel free to ask questions.

With a budget of $400 for a pair of drivers you are off to a good start.

Regards,

Bob