Bofu is gone, but how about this?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
The pioneer bofu is gone and I'm looking to try a g chang or curvy chang build. I'm looking for a cost effective alternative.

PE has this woofer from pioneer:
Pioneer B20GR30-51F 8" Butyl Surround Woofer

It specs out a little different from the Bofu (qts) but is quite efficient and looks to have a very similar motor structure.

I noticed on this forum that a lot of guys have removed the whizzer cone and added a helper tweeter to the Bofu anyway.

So my question is three fold:

1) Is this a suitable alternative to the Bofu assuming the use of a tweeter?

2) Are there other alternatives that are cost effective for the g chang or curvy chang?

3) What tweeter would I use as a good match?

I know that GRS has a "Bofu type" driver on PE, but I have no experience with GRS.

I'm also aware that this is essentially a two way post in the full range section, but this seemed like the place to ask considering I talking about building a chang.

Thanks in advance.

I haven't heard that. These seem to me to be in a great price range, have great reviews and look heavily built.

I'm no expert on what T/S parameters I need to pay attention to specifically for the chang.

Any help would be appreciated.

On a side note I'm also thinking of re-creating my first pair of good speakers with these woofers just for fun. Dahlquist M-905.

Disabled Account
Joined 2009
You're going to need more than a super tweeter with that woofer. Even though its frequency response goes out there, you can be sure it doesn't sound very good above maybe 1KHz. Go and look at the frequency response graph. Even if it did have a smooth extended frequency response, it would still beam like crazy in the higher frequencies. Get a tweeter that can crossover low, like maybe 2KHz.
http://www.parts-express.com/pdf/290-042.pdf