Tang Bang W8-1772 Project Advice Needed - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th November 2010, 10:17 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Tang Bang W8-1772 Project Advice Needed

I am about to begin a Tang Bang W8-1772 FR speaker project.

Based on information from Bob Brines on this full range speaker I decided on a 1.5 Cu Ft BR cabinet with a single 3" port 4" long.

I have two questions.

1. Should a recess be routed in the cabinet for these speakers?

2. Does lining the inside of the cabinet with sound damping material make sense? The cabinet will be made with 3/4" Aspen. I know it may not be the ideal material but it's all I have available.

(I've got some DIY experience. I built a 2-way BR with a Seas 27TDFC/RS-180 designed by Jay Kim. Those turned out to be excellent sounding speakers when driven with my PS Audio Digital Amp & DAC)

Now, I want to get into FR speakers with a SET tube amp.

Thanks for any advice.
Old 29th November 2010, 11:15 PM   #2
tomchr is online now tomchr  United States
diyAudio Member

Unless you fancy diffraction, I suggest that you mount the drivers so the front of the flange is flush with the front of the baffle.

For the damping material, I suggest looking at Acousta-Stuf. At least give the flat surfaces a good coat of that to dampen box resonances.

~Tom
Old 29th November 2010, 11:46 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Enjoy building your project. I am curious if you will be using a circuit on the full range driver or not.

I would imagine TB was looking at the Fostex market with their 1772 and 1808 full range drivers designing a low and mid Qts for back horns and/or ported designs only to have Fostex revamp their line to primarily low Qts drivers.

I have the 1808 and it's great! If the similar looking 1772 is similar sounding then it too should be great.