My new Alpair 12's

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
just arrived today .

DSC_0232.jpg

kinda disappointed in the factory cabinets . they sound kinda cardboardy . lack soundstage and the bass is nonexistent ;)

Lol , Hi

cabinetmaker by profession and vinyl junkie after hours .

after finally getting my man cave built and resurrecting my old stuff , i found this place among others .

after reading and studying for the last few weeks , thought i'd say Hi :)

Joined 2006
Paid Member
kinda disappointed in the factory cabinets . they sound kinda cardboardy . lack soundstage and the bass is nonexistent ;)

:)

Hi Woody - and Welcome to diyAudio!!! :D:D:D

You have started out with some outstanding speakers so I figure you already know where you are headed and how to get there.

About the lack of bass and soundstage - - - - - MA strongly suggest a gentle and extended break-in period for his drivers. I'm sure that things will improve after a couple of hundred hours - which will give you time to finish the cabs. :rolleyes:

Woody,

As i suggested in my email earlier today, i did get the ClassicGR Mar-Ken12 going today.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

dave

so how are they sounding Dave ? i'm just about to throw a set of those cabs together . you guys do realize that that bit about the "factory" cabinets was all tongue in cheek i hope .

my plans now are to build those and hopefully the full onken version and also the pencils . all out of plywood , then decide what nice show quality ones to build .

while my man cave is only 12 x 15 my livingroom/diningroom/kitchen open floor is 4 times that w/ cathedral ceilings so it will be interesting .

thanx for the welcome :)

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member