Best FR Size for Small/Medium Sized Room

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have never tried out FR before and am doing some research as they sound intriguing. Since the sizes range from 3" up to 15", I thought I would get some feedback on what may serve me best given my space limitations:

My listening space is about 17' X 14', shared w/ TV/Home Theater, and an extension into a small dining area. My current speakers are 2-way MTMs with Dayton RS180/Scan Speak D2608 MTM. From what I gather about FR, they have a narrow sweet spot. This is fine as I only listen to music when seated.

I listen to Jazz, Pink Floyd, Classical Indian Music, Film Soundtracks. I don't need super low bass, 40s should be good enough for me.

Maximum speaker separation is about 9-10'.
Speakers have to be near wall, max 2ft. from front of baffle to wall.
Will be used w/ my HT receiver for TV/Movies as well as standalone ampfor 2-channel.
Seating distance is 9ft.

Lastly, although I can build my own cabinets, my resources and time are limited so simple BR is pretty much all I can do.

That said, how effective would smaller FR drivers be? I am inclined to get something like the Audio Nirvana 10 or 12s or maybe Tang Band W8-1808/1722. Seems like the bigger the better. Am I wrong in this assumption?

thanks

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
Seems like the bigger the better. Am I wrong in this assumption?

You'll get as many opinions as there are afficianados :)

Personally i figure the sweet spot is 4-5" (7-10 cm actual cones).

My room is much larger than yours, i have 20W (or 40 if i flip the switch to pentode).

maybe Tang Band W8-1808/1722

Of those two (i am working on a pair of each as we speak), i'd choose the 1808... right of the edge of passing outside decent value for the dollar thou.

dave

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
Lots of choices, what follows is a sampling -- stuff i've heard.