Voigt Pipe for TB W8-1808 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th September 2010, 07:48 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Voigt Pipe for TB W8-1808

I have been enjoying the TB 1808 on open baffle for several months but wanted to do something else on open baffle and maybe put these drivers into Voigt Pipes similar to what Lowther does.

http://www.parts-express.com/pdf/264-894s.pdf

I like the dimensions of this cabinet:

FredT300B's Photos : Popular Photos : These are the plans for a pair of Voigt pipes built by Herbert Jeschke, taken from the single driver website at http://www.melhuish.org/audio/DIYTQ4.html The Voigt Pipe is a Tapered Quarter Wave Pipe enclosure, w

I don't know how to design a pipe like this (only BIBs, ported, OB and sealed boxes for me) and was curious how to do it. I wanted to make sure the performance will be optimal before cutting wood. Can someone help me with these dims and port opening please? I prefer a square port like in the drawing. But really, i'd like to be able to sim this cabinet on my own. I built the straight pipe (brines) years ago and my son wants them in his bedroom bc he likes the look (they don't have drivers in them at the moment tho they used to have RS 1354 and then Fostex 127e... and may end up in his room with Fostex 168s old style with wizzer... lucky kid!).

I think the 1808 will work really well all by itself in this type of cabinet with out bass or treble support.

TIA,
Zilla
Old 7th September 2010, 09:19 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I'm no help with your question, but wondering if you've been using the 1808s with a Zobel network or just "naked"? I'm still torn between using mine in some sealed cabs vs. open baffle (with some bass augmentation in both cases).
Old 7th September 2010, 09:38 PM   #3
diyAudio Member