Frugel-Horn Mk3 Builds & Build Questions

Thanks, Dave. I was wondering why the Stealth wasn't talked about as much these days seeing as it was such a cool concept. I didn't realize it was dependent on a particular driver that was no longer made. I will write to CSS.

Chris, when you write multiples, you mean doubling up the 4inch peerless? Do they need to be crossed over or just wired together? Is there a thread on this? It might be beyond my current skill set. I have zero experience with building crossovers as of yet.

Also, I just want to say that you guys did a great job with the FH3. I just got mine back up and running after being without them for a little over 2 years due to moving around and losing my power amp. It's like listening for the first time again. I really missed them. Thanks again.

Regarding multiples - the several builds in which we've used multiples (either 2 or 4 per side), they'd have been wired in parallel or series/parallel to keep net impedance within safe operating range of amps, and our general approach was to use passive line level XO, and bi-amp, so yes they'd be low passed. IIRC, the particular driver we used was the Peerless 830870, and in all cases I can remember, the enclosures were vented - either fairly compact MLTL, or the rather more cumbersome "Facets". - Word to the wise - when Dave says, "I've got this idea for an enclosure, but I'm having trouble figuring out how to draw it" be wary of taking the challenge of building a pair

Attachments

• Facets-noDrivers.jpg
    Facets-noDrivers.jpg
    90.7 KB · Views: 558
Last edited: