DIY Virgin - Questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am after a few quick answers or "gut responses".

I have been loitering around this site for a few months, in the hope that it would help me make a decision regarding which drivers and enclosure I would use for my first DIY. The problem I am having is that as soon as any thread becomes a little bit technical I can get lost.

I am interested in:

Alpair 12 (Pensil enclosure), although I am concerned they meed be more suited to a large room.

Alpair 7 (Pensil), I am concerned that it may not have enough bass, although I could setup as a 2.1 with a sub.

Twin Alpair 7, what are the benefits of two drivers, sorry if this is obvious.(http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/markaudio/169016-alpair-7-twin-driver-studio-monitor-plan.html), I like the look of two drivers.

My Parameters:
Amp: Cambridge Audio 340R (not changing to valve amp, can only afford speakers at the moment).
Room: 5m x 7m (16' x 22')
Music: Wide Ranging, bass heavy electronic and accousitc alternative. I want to hear the bass at low volumes (I want it to be clearly defined).

All opinions welcome.:)

If you are concerned about Alpair7 & bass, and can live with 5 foot, no deficiency of bass with Maeshowe.

After Colin's success with Twin Mar-Ken10, there will also be a Twin Mar-Ken7.

But with a room as large as you have, i don't think Pensil12 will be an issue.

dave

Thanks, I am under instructions with regards to size, and the 5 foot maeshowe is out of the quesiton.

With regard to the Twin either Alpair 10 or Alapir 7, what are the positives and negatives of twin drivers. I thought I read in comment to a twin Alpair 12 that the ideal listening position would be closer. Is this the case?

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
The ideal position for any Twin (where both drivers are front firing) is far away giving a chance for the signal to merge.