Chinese/Taiwan 4” Dual Cone Speakers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Moderator note: Two threads have been merged into one. The second starts at post 66.

Hi, this is my first post and hope someone can help me.

I’ve recently bought a pair of Chinese/Taiwan 4” dual cone speakers (with neodymium magnets) with nothing else to go on than “they looked nice” and one person’s opinion that they compare favourably with his own Lowthers but apparently “without the Lowther shout”.

I have very little mathematical knowledge/experience of acoustics or speaker design but have a certain amount of mechanical intuition and a decently equipped workshop. I have built valve amplifiers and speakers with and without plans so I have some experience in building stuff but wanted a more scientific ground up approach to this build. Gut trembling bass extension isn’t a priority but good low mids to sparkling treble together with realism & placement with a flat response are.

I had considered a Voight pipe for ease of build and efficiency but the comb filtering effect is a big concern. I had thought of adding a rear facing speaker wired out of phase and maybe of a different size and at a different height to the main speaker to iron out this comb effect. I also thought of wiring this other speaker on an L pad to adjust it’s effect. But this is all based on intuition and a product of my fevered imagination with only the lightest grasp on whether it would work or not.

I have attached a photo of the apparent specs and the speakers themselves. There is a name blurred out on the specs, as they are supposedly debadged speakers from a well-known manufacturer.

Hope someone can point me in the right direction.

Attachments

• _-1.jpg
    _-1.jpg
    151.5 KB · Views: 5,001
  • spkr pic.jpg
    spkr pic.jpg
    46.5 KB · Views: 4,812