Boxes or Not - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th May 2010, 03:16 PM   #1
joaquim is offline joaquim  Sweden
diyAudio Member

Default Boxes or Not

Thread split off from http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/full-...t=wood+varnish

Hi guys!
I'm new to this thread as well, but I've build speaker cabinets, speaker elements(I've wind the coil myself and then I buy the cone, the suspension, the magnet, basket etc., I'm "tube-crazy", so it's a great way to get the perfect match for the output trafo and speaker, all properties of the speaker, from induction to Vas, is under your "spell" - ctrl).
There's so many different opinion and ways to choose the "right" material as there are "builders/designers".

Personal I all most always use MDF and sheep wool. I've experimented with concrete, black-oak etcetera. To put all the resonance frequencies to use, in some fashion... And I've manage to get a small 4" full range speaker, to produce base like an 18", but I always end up building(for those who order amps and speakers from my little company) cabinet with MDF, and then "dress up" the cabinet with, whatever wood the customer/you want, except for the front, because if you use a very hard wood(or fiberglass, eeekh... what a terrifying thought....) the measured values of the speaker-element in question will change. What you get from the datasheet of a speaker-element is based on an infinity baffle, absolutely no resonance fq from the cabinet.
What you want to do with your cabinet is to change those data, and perhaps get a higher resolution from the base/mid-range element(s), or for a subwoofer, you might want to force the element to play beyond its resonance frequency, and so on...