1st time project ... modest towers? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th June 2010, 12:00 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default 1st time project ... modest towers?

Hi,

I am needing a pair of speakers for my bedroom system ... low level, 30w/ch SS amp .... jazz, classical, etc. Low power so efficiency should be good. I have been thinking of a DIY project and the thought hit me .... why not try DIY speakers? By this I mean ... build it myself, not design one. I have never built speakers before but have done a number of DIY amp projects.

I'd love a slim, tower design. Are there good reference DIY designs out there? Can someone point me in the right direction?

Are there any kit options out there?

Am I crazy to consider this as a 1st time project?

Thx in advance for help,
Rob
Old 30th June 2010, 12:07 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Yes...your're crazy. That's why you are here!

Look at the Alpair pencil series. Very good comments all around. I'm going to go with the twin alpair 7 design myself

Cheers
Old 30th June 2010, 02:05 PM   #3
cjkpkg is offline cjkpkg  United States
diyAudio Member

I built the Planet10 hifi Fonken Floorstanders MKII with CSS EL-70s and they sound awesome!

Pretty easy build too.

FonkenFSMKII

***EDIT***
The FE127E's are no longer available. The EL-70 is a recommended substitute. For this design you have to adjust the cutout of the brace behind the driver to the deeper EL-70. And don't let the efficiency numbers of the EL-70 fool you. They will play plenty loud. Without any analytical measuring equipment I almost don't believe the numbers based on the sound.

Last edited by cjkpkg; 30th June 2010 at 02:09 PM.
Old 30th June 2010, 02:15 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Thx. After a quick look ... the Pensil 7 looks about right for me.
Would these be good for bedroom?