1st time project ... modest towers?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I am needing a pair of speakers for my bedroom system ... low level, 30w/ch SS amp .... jazz, classical, etc. Low power so efficiency should be good. I have been thinking of a DIY project and the thought hit me .... why not try DIY speakers? By this I mean ... build it myself, not design one. I have never built speakers before but have done a number of DIY amp projects.

I'd love a slim, tower design. Are there good reference DIY designs out there? Can someone point me in the right direction?

Are there any kit options out there?

Am I crazy to consider this as a 1st time project?

Thx in advance for help,
Rob

I built the Planet10 hifi Fonken Floorstanders MKII with CSS EL-70s and they sound awesome!

Pretty easy build too.

FonkenFSMKII

***EDIT***
The FE127E's are no longer available. The EL-70 is a recommended substitute. For this design you have to adjust the cutout of the brace behind the driver to the deeper EL-70. And don't let the efficiency numbers of the EL-70 fool you. They will play plenty loud. Without any analytical measuring equipment I almost don't believe the numbers based on the sound.

Last edited:
I've always questioned single driver speakers. Do you get get good hi - freq ? Is it a big deal (redesign, etc) to add a tweeter?
Rob

I built the Planet10 hifi Fonken Floorstanders MKII with CSS EL-70s and they sound awesome!

Pretty easy build too.

FonkenFSMKII

***EDIT***
The FE127E's are no longer available. The EL-70 is a recommended substitute. For this design you have to adjust the cutout of the brace behind the driver to the deeper EL-70. And don't let the efficiency numbers of the EL-70 fool you. They will play plenty loud. Without any analytical measuring equipment I almost don't believe the numbers based on the sound.