Question about port length for FE207E's - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd June 2010, 02:56 AM   #1
2litre is offline 2litre  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Question about port length for FE207E's

I finally picked up my first pair of Fostex drivers, some FE207E's.

I had enough scrap ply to get close to the Fostex recommended simple bass reflex cabinet size of 35L for immediate listening and break-in.
I got my cabinet in at 31L.

In the 35L drawing Fostex shows 18mm for the port length on the 80mm port. I've never built a ported speaker before but that just looks like a misprint. I have some 3" PVC cut to a 2" length in them right now but wondering what length I should be using.

Any help would be appreciated.

R/
Jim
Old 22nd June 2010, 03:57 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

180mm. That was a gotcha for me too!
Old 22nd June 2010, 05:15 AM   #3
GM is offline GM  United States
diyAudio Member

18 mm is a common material thickness, so the vent is just a hole in an 18 mm thick baffle. Scaling vents to fit readily available pipe stock: FE126E enclosure question

GM
Old 22nd June 2010, 07:45 AM   #4
borispm is offline borispm  Hong Kong
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to borispm
A 35L cab with a 18mm means a tuning frequency of 75Hz! I think it's a misprint as well. FE207E can get much lower in a large cab! I would say 150mm with a tuning frequency of 45Hz.
Old 22nd June 2010, 01:53 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

I use a 3"dia x 5" port on my 35L BR's. They probably net more like 32L and are stuffed back to 35L. I much prefer EBS alignments, so I tend to tune low. This can give better bass extension and avoid boomyness.

Bob
Old 22nd June 2010, 02:02 PM   #6
diyAudio Member

I simmed the 207e a while back in WinISD. Here is what i came up with.