Needle or floorstander for car speakers?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, this is my first post here and I am really new at electronics and audio DIY.

A couple months ago a friend gave me a pair of inexpensive car speakers he wasn't using. I bought a cheap Lepai Mosfet amplifier, constructed very simple boxes with plywood and tried the speakers. They sounded much better than I expected, so I thought that there should be better looking and better sounding designs. I started googling and ended up here.

I've been reading previous posts for a couple of weeks an realized that there was much more to speakers design than I thought. I also realized that car speakers doesn't seem to be the best choice for home applications. But there are fairly diverging opinions about how suitable are them.

So, I have the speakers, I have the wood and I want to build a pair of slender colums like the Needle or (better still) Fonken floorstanders. I understand that they were designed for specific speakers, but those are not available here in Peru and by now my budget is too wasted to import them.

The question is: can I expect decent performance copying one of those designs and adapting them for these speakers? which one may be better? Alternatives? I don't need very high volume and like to hear music as naturally as possible, not heavy loaded with bass.

The characteristics of the speakers are:
4" 3-way speaker
400 W Max.
4 ohm
Frequency: 100-20kHz
Sensitivity: 88dB/W/M
Magnet: 5.3oz
Voice coil: 25mm

Any advise is appreciated.

Thanks,

Gonzalo

Gonzalo:

While many of the enclosures on the Planet10 website which derived from the original mini-onken/Fonken designs were optimized for our own particular favorite model of driver (i.e. the Fostex FE127E), there is a fair degree of latitude in the make / models than will deliver satisfying performance.