Finished desktop tl (henkjan/juoiga) alpair 5

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I just finished HENKJAN's design DESKTOP TL for the alpair 5, im using the ALPAIR 5 GREY.

I was able to finish it in 1 day, using glue and screw (its my first build and i want to take advantage of the holiday) :D

Its such wonderful sound. I feel no sub needed.

Thanks to HENKJAN & MARK

:cheers:
Henry

Hello Henkjan,

I was hoping that you would respond. I have a pair of Alpair 5, and would like to build your enclosure. However, my shelf is too short. Is there a way to make the enclosure shorter while keeping the bass output? Or am looking at a completely different design. Thanks.

so the max cab height would be just below 1 foot? how deep could it be? with a different 'fold' of the line, while keeping approx the same length and cross sections it will sound the same.

Depth is about 1 foot, so it would overhang the shelf quite a bit if the cross section and length remain the same. I was hoping that the length could be shortened and more stuffing added, but that might be a completely different design.

in theory lenght can be shortened by increasing the taper, but since it is already a strong taper I doubt if you'd gain much.

I was thinking more of a fold like this:
hh96_titel_mi.jpg

you could "play around" with MJK's allignment tables to see if you can make it fit somehow http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/full-range/163394-tl-alignment-tables-excel.html, maybe with a bit higher tune of the line you can make it fit.

No DC please

just use the volume knob with care...