Pragmatic Full Range

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, I am new to DIY speakers and I would appreciate your advices.

I am looking for an easy and affordable first build. I've been seduced by the simplicity of Fostex drivers. By all that I read, I would be inclined to build either a BIB or bass reflex.

I listen to Techno 40%, Classic 30%, Anything else 30%.

I want to put the speakers on my old Pioneer SA-9900 110W/ch. The room size is 10 feet high, 12 wide x 30 feet long.

I fear I might blow any of the 4" Fostex. I can "attenuate" the output of my Pioneer with the -30db switch in front but i don't trust the wife or kids...:rolleyes:

Which full range speaker / enclosure plan do you recommend?

I had concern about blowing the Fostex but I didn't grasp the theory of a good pair of speaker that could worsen my setup; and that a cheaper pair would "hide" my Pioneer weaknesses...:eek:

Anyway I liked the Fostex for their quality but mainly because having the plan to design the enclosure were provided, tested and proven.

So since Fostex seems overkill, I am open to any other full range driver / enclosure suggestions that would fit nice with this amp.

A 3-4" speaker is not going to do a very good job on techno. I would either pair it with a subwoofer (actively crossed), or go for a larger driver.

Another question I would have is whether you think this is a one-time thing or the start of a hobby? If this is the start of a speaker-building hobby for you, then a simple, cheap fostex build is just the thing to get your feet wet.

It doesn't matter much if they are just right for your music preference or your existing equipment, you will get a feel for what full-range speakers do well and you'll have a better idea what you want for your next build.