Baffle step compensation (sound absorption instead of electrical attenuation)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi to all full-range lovers!

I am a rookie in speaker construction, and even moreso as far as FR is concerned. My first FR project is about to begin! I got myself a pair of Fostex FE164 drivers. I specifically sought out these drivers because they have a very smooth roll-off in the bass region ( less than 10db difference between response at fs and at mid frequencies) and higher Xmax than the newer 166/167 drivers. I also "feel" that 6,5 inch FR drivers are the best compromise.

My heart is set on building a BIB, mainly becaues of the ease of constuction and the apparent great results that can be had.

The reason for this post is that I have been running things through my mind before beginning construction. Initially I had thought/hoped that I would not need to insert anything between amp and driver, but as I searched, discovered this "nasty" called baffle step and the need for a BSC and so on and so forth.

The question that I want to ask is this:

What if we make the baffle, or even better the entire enclosure very very absorptive? Would that not attenuate the mid/high frequencies in the same way an attenuation circuit would. In this way we avoid any inductors, caps and resistors in the signal path, AND, we create a better point source( the source of sound will be the driver cone, not cone+baffle).

One fleeting idea I had in accoumplishing this is by using small felt pyramids that would be glued to the baffle/enclosure covering the entire surface. There may be better materials or methods of achieving what I am proposing.

Please share yout thoughts and knowledge regarding this idea, and my proposed project in general.

Best wishes to all

Peter