New to Full Range speakers...questions though - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th October 2009, 05:12 AM   #1
karlton is offline karlton  United States
diyAudio Member

Default New to Full Range speakers...questions though

I know my questions have probably been answered many times,but....I am on a VERY slow dial-up system ....and have limited electricity so I need to be specific to narrow down the info. I apologize in advance.

To keep it simple...I want to build a simple set of full range speakers. They will be for a 12' x 12' room with 8' ceiling.

I like all kinds of music,jazz and blues are my favorite.

I am a carpenter/woodworker,so the cabinets are my forte.

My main question is...what drivers would you pick? I live in the USA,so thinking Fostex is the choice? I pretty much know nothing on the speaker part. I have read many threads but they confuse the heck out of me.

So i guess these are my questions.

#1 What driver?

#2 What size cabinet

#3 Do full range drivers need special wireing(caps,resistors,etc)...or just a simple direct connect ?

Sorry for the dumb questions,but i have to start somewhere.

Thanks.
Old 28th October 2009, 05:35 AM   #2
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by karlton View Post

#1 What driver?

#2 What size cabinet

#3 Do full range drivers need special wireing(caps,resistors,etc)...or just a simple direct connect ?
You don't want to much driver... you have a small room. Efficiency would be a boon if you need to conserve power.

FE127, FE126e, FE167, FE166 would be a short list of Fostex. eN versions for a step up.

Once you choose a driver pick an enclosure (althou the available enclosures available may hekp you choose the driver)