Full range good for EW&F? WARNING: n00b status within

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm really hoping I'm not too far off here. I've been looking online for the past couple of days, trying to make heads or tails of Martin King's technical papers. I fear without some sort of project to help me understand, then it will remain gibberish.

I like the technical aspect but I need to know what will accomplish my goals. One of my top 10 albums... ever, is Earth Wind & Fire's "Best Of Vol.1." I suppose the real question is will a full range project sate my hunger for the Snappy mid-bass and crisp high's that Maurice White's group did so well?

My background is as a Car Audio Installer, which to me means 9/10 times your using stock locations and minimal enclosure design unless a sub is needed. In which case sealed is easier and ported is tuned for low end extension. I've never undertaken a "loudspeaker project", especially for a home application.

I've been searching through online sources looking for something useful. The technical articles frustrate me and the generic sources are so pedestrian that they provide no help at all. Is there a good Fostex full-range that will get me where I wanna go? The only reason I mention them is because my shop just got a Madisound catalogue a while ago and I know Fostex offers some inexpensive drivers and has some nice looking enclosure designs for their full-rangers.

Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated greatly.

Thanks
Aaron

i wake up so early today (10.10) that i can azard an answer:

earth, wind and fire? what did they have against water???