A little knowledge is a dangerous thing!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi to all

I'm a noob of the First Order of Noobs, so forgive me if I appear thick! I was hunting the internet looking at stuff and found this page. For reasons of copyright I'll just add the link http://www.tnt-audio.com/clinica/bfb_e.html

This is an idea for a 45 litre ported homemade cabinet with a single Fostex 204. Reading it, amongst other things, made me ponder building a slightly modified version with a different design to help eliminate standing waves and using the Fostex 206e unit. I should stress that I'm a musician and music lover, not an audiophile or Physics Major, so a full range single driver speaker would represent the extent of my intellectual resources! Now, would a variation on the theme of the "box" speaker in the link be feasible in terms of padding and bracing of the cabinet and padding and grounding the driver, or is this actually a recipe for disaster?

I currently have a pair of fairly inexpensive B&Ws and a Yamaha amp, but I would like better/more expensive speakers without having to spend over £1000 and the thought of building my own is appealing. I could also use the money I saved to buy a better amp. So how's a single full range driver going to live up to a B&W (albeit near-bottom-of-the-range B&Ws)? Or should I start saving up for a pair of good B&W/Spendor/Quad instead?

Any help appreciated.
m.d.

IMO the FE206E is a bad choice for a BR. the FE207E is a better choice. For a few £ more, consider the Tang Band W8-1772 in 40-45 liters. The TB has far less glare than the 206 and better top end than the 207.

BTW, there are no flies on Yamaha amps. You will be amazed at the difference a good single-driver speakers makes with ANY amp.

Bob

>>> currently have a pair of fairly inexpensive B&Ws...