TQWT Concrete cabinet attempt, building thread.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have always wanted to build a pair of speakers in concrete but I have never find a way to do this in just one casting. The problem has been to get the form out from the finished cabinet. I talked about this with my colleague at work (im a civil engineer) and he suggested to build the form out of polystyrene and then either melting it with heat or chemically with thinner (Toluen) after the concrete has solidified. After testing the methods on a piece of polystyrene I decided to go for the chemical approach in my project.

Since I'm into transmission lines (at the moment) I decided to build a tapered quarter wave tube based on Martin J King Mathcad sheets, that I downloaded back in 2006 or so, but not yet have had the opportunity to try out. I'm sure the new updated (but unavailable to me) sheets are better but since this is more of an experiment in using concrete in the design than building the most optimized TL out there I'm happy that I still had the sheets on my harddrive.

The driver of choice is the Mark Audio CHR-70 that I have heard good things about.

After some hours altering the parameters in Mathcad I was quite satisfied with the teoretical result (as far as I knew with zero experience in designing TL's). So then I jumped on the building. The fun stuff in my opinion :)

First of all you need some special tools before the real work can start:

1. Someting to cut the polystyrene with: A simple "hot wire" saw.
2. Something to rotate the 60 kg heavy speaker with under the thinner melting process: A monstrous 3D-Rotator :)

Enough speaking, here are the result so far:

Hotwire saw

btg-tqwt_01.JPG

btg-tqwt_02.JPG

The tube cut out from polystyrene sheet

btg-tqwt_03.JPG

The edges are rounded a bit to give the concrete structure more strength

btg-tqwt_04.JPG