Brynn's with fe126e - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th April 2009, 05:20 PM   #1
Rdylan is offline Rdylan  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default Brynn's with fe126e

I'm planning to build my first set of speakers, I already have a pair of used fe126e fostex. I've been scouring these pages trying to decide on an enclosure that would work for me. I'm thinking that the Brynns from planet 10's website would work.
I'm very new at this ( both diy speakers and woodworking) so I was hoping everyone here could give me a little advise. First is I don't know what a 5rseries is? The plans say the 126e has a 5r series. Also I've got no way to accurately cut the wood, what do others do when they haven't got accurate cutting tools? thanks
Old 11th April 2009, 05:23 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

It means put a 5ohm resistor in series with the driver. If you've no way to accurately cut the wood, then either

a/ get someone else to do it for you, or

b/ don't try building speakers until you can. Accuracy is essential.
Old 11th April 2009, 06:32 PM   #3
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

What tools do you have? Even with just a jig saw, some clamps, a straightedge, patience & ingenuity you can cut the wood accurately enuff.

The series resistance may not need to be as large as 5R. With our tube ampss we settled on 2 or 3R.

dave
Old 11th April 2009, 07:43 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

The 5ohm suggestion dated from a time when the Fostex spec. for the 126 was assumed to be accurate (which it isn't) -as Dave says, in reality, you'd probably get by with 2 - 3ohms.